Edouard Hue

Edouard Hue Herausragender Tänzer 2019 03
© BAK Gregory Batardo

Edouard Hue

Outstanding Female Dancer 2019

Edouard Hue was born in 1991 and began his dance training at the Conservatoire Régional d’Annecy before joining the Ballet Junior de Genève. He has danced with, among others, the Hofesh Shechter Company – the London-based Israeli is considered one of the most exciting choreographers working today –, Olivier Dubois in France and, in Geneva, Foofwa d’imobilité, Alias Compagnie and Jozsef Trefeli. As a result, Geneva has become his artistic home. It was there that, in 2014, he set up his own Beaver Dam Company and created his first duet, “Murky Depths”, which soon received numerous awards and has been performed internationally. In addition to its base in Geneva the company has, since 2017, had a three-year artistic residence at the Auditorium Seynoud – Scène Régionale in Annecy. Edouard Hue is more than just a dancer and choreographer: he is also a passionate teacher who gives workshops in Switzerland, France, Greece and Japan.

Edouard Hue is one of a young generation of dancers whose artistic roots lay quite naturally in hip-hop and urban dance and who then completed a classical dance training. The result is a repertoire of movement forms that blend breakdance and ballet with new facets of contemporary dance. 2017 saw the creation of “Meet me Halfway”, with support from Pro Helvetia as part of a mentoring programme with Olivier Dubois, which attracted attention on international dance platforms. Hue’s solo “Forward” was created in 2018 as part of the “Dance & Dramaturgy” project initiated by Philippe Saire at the Théâtre Sévelin 36, which was produced in conjunction with the Dampfzentrale Bern, the Tanzhaus Zürich, the Théâtre de l’Usine in Geneva and the Roxy in Birsfelden. That same year he devised “Into Outside” for the school of contemporary dance in Montreal. At the Avignon Festival in 2019 he presented both works as part of the OFF festival, earning high praise for his dynamic dance style.

Guillaume Guilherme, jury member:

“The excellence of Edouard Hue is the product of vast experience spanning hip hop, Hofesh Shechter in Britain, other companies in France and Geneva and his own Beaver Dam. His dancing is agile, folding in on himself then expanding to his full breadth, opening up great spaces around him. His very presence seems to make the air denser; sometimes we hear the murmuring rhythm of his movement as it carries him forward. If a dancer can arouse emotion – and in Edouard Hue’s case he surely can – it is nothing less than a revelation.”

Edouard Hue

Edouard Hue Herausragender Tänzer 2019 03
© BAK Gregory Batardo

Edouard Hue

Herausragender Tänzer 2019

Edouard Hue, geboren 1991, startete seine Tanzausbildung am Conservatoire Régional d’Annecy, bevor er dem Ballet Junior de Genève beitrat. Er tanzte u. a. bei der Hofesh Shechter Company (der in London beheimatete Israeli Hofesh Shechter gilt derzeit als einer der spannendsten Choreographen), bei Olivier Dubois in Frankreich und in Genf bei Foofwa d’imobilité, der Alias Compagnie und Jozsef Trefeli. Genf wurde ihm so zu seiner künstlerischen Heimat. Dort gründete er 2014 seine Beaver Dam Company und kreierte mit «Murky Depths» ein erstes Duett, das gleich mit zahlreichen Preisen ausgezeichnet und international gezeigt wurde. Die Company hat neben ihrem Sitz in Genf seit 2017 für drei Jahre eine künstlerische Residenz im Auditorium Seynoud – Scène Régionale in Annecy. Edouard Hue ist nicht nur Tänzer und Choreograph, sondern auch ein leidenschaftlicher Lehrer. Er gibt Workshops in der Schweiz sowie in Frankreich, Griechenland und Japan.

Edouard Hue zählt zu einer jungen Generation von Tänzern, die ihre tänzerischen Wurzeln wie selbstverständlich im Hip-Hop und im urbanen Tanz hatten und anschliessend eine klassische Tanzausbildung absolvierten. Dadurch vermischen sich Bewegungsformen zwischen Breakdance und Ballett zu neuen Facetten des zeitgenössischen Tanzes. 2017 entstand «Meet me halfway», unterstützt von Pro Helvetia im Rahmen eines Mentoring-Programms mit Olivier Dubois, das auf internationalenTanzplattformen auffiel. Sein Solo «Forward» entstand 2018 im Rahmen des von Philippe Saire am Théâtre Sévelin 36 initiierten Projekts «Tanz & Dramaturgie», das in Zusammenarbeit mit der Dampfzentrale Bern, dem Tanzhaus Zürich, dem Théâtre de l’Usine in Genf und dem Roxy in Birsfelden durchgeführt wurde. Im gleichen Jahr schuf er «Into Outside» für die Schule für zeitgenössischen Tanz in Montreal. Beim Festival in Avignon 2019 zeigte er beide Werke im Rahmen des Off-Festivals und erntete für seinen dynamischen Tanzstil grosses Lob.

Guillaume Guilherme, Jurymitglied:

«Die Exzellenz von Edouard Hue ist das Ergebnis einer reichen Erfahrung: Hip-Hop, die Hofesh Shechter Company in England und andere Compagnien in Frankreich und in Genf sowie seine eigene, Beaver Dam. Sein Tanzstil ist agil, er zieht sich elastisch zusammen, um sich wieder zu öffnen und weite Räume auszufüllen. Mit seiner Präsenz scheint er die Luft zu verdichten und manchmal hören wir ihn den Rhythmus der Bewegung flüstern, die ihn mitreisst. Es ist immer eine Offenbarung, wenn ein Tänzer Emotionen zu wecken vermag – und das ist bei Edouard Hue ganz sicher der Fall.»