Information

The Federal Office of Culture (FOC) presented Swiss Dance Awards every second year from 2013 to 2019 and Swiss Theatre Awards every year from 2014 to 2020. Since 2021, the Swiss Dance Awards and Swiss Theatre Awards have been merged under the umbrella of the Performing Arts, and are presented annually at a joint event. The aim of this change is to bring the disciplines of dance, theatre, the various forms that make up “Kleinkunst”, and other facets of the performing arts such as performance, contemporary circus, puppet theatre and street arts closer together, and increase the visibility of the performing arts.

In addition to the Swiss Grand Award for the Performing Arts / Hans Reinhart Ring, which is awarded in cooperation with the Swiss Association for Theatre Studies (SGTK), the FOC awards each year a total of nine Swiss awards in dance, theatre and the performing arts to individuals or institutions that have rendered outstanding services to the diverse cultural output of the performing arts in Switzerland. In addition, one dance and one theatre production of the previous year are honoured and the “June Johnson Newcomer Prize” is awarded in collaboration with the Stanley Thomas Johnson Foundation.

These awards from the Federal Office of Culture are specifically designed to recognise the work of culture practitioners, promote diversity and exchange between language regions, and make them more accessible to audiences both national and international. The FOC works closely with various partners to promote the awards, including the Swiss Association for Theatre Studies, the Swiss Artists’ Fair, Tanzfest and the Swiss Theatre Encounter.

Social media

Informationen

Von 2013 bis 2019 verlieh das Bundesamt für Kultur (BAK) biennal Schweizer Tanzpreise und von 2014 bis 2020 jährlich Schweizer Theaterpreise. Seit 2021 werden die Schweizer Tanzpreise und die Schweizer Theaterpreise unter dem Dach der «Darstellenden Künste» zusammengeführt und jährlich an einer Veranstaltung verliehen. Ziel dieser Zusammenlegung der Sparten Tanz, Theater, Kleinkunst und weiterer Facetten der darstellenden Künste wie Performance, zeitgenössischer Zirkus, Figurentheater oder Strassenkünste ist es, den darstellenden Künsten eine grössere Sichtbarkeit zu verleihen.

Neben dem Schweizer Grand Prix Darstellende Künste / Hans-Reinhart-Ring, der in Kooperation mit der Schweizerischen Gesellschaft für Theaterkultur (SGTK) verliehen wird, vergibt das BAK jährlich insgesamt neun Schweizer Preise im Tanz, Theater und den darstellenden Künsten an Personen oder Institutionen, die sich um das vielfältige Kulturschaffen der darstellenden Künste der Schweiz verdient gemacht haben. Ausserdem werden eine Tanz- und eine Theaterproduktion des Vorjahres ausgezeichnet sowie in Zusammenarbeit mit der Stanley Thomas Johnson Stiftung der «June Johnson Newcomer Prize» vergeben.

Mit diesen Preisen ehrt das Bundesamt für Kultur Kulturschaffende, würdigt ihre Werke, fördert die Vielfalt und den Austausch der Sprachregionen und bringt diese einem nationalen und internationalen Publikum näher. Für die Promotion der Preise arbeitet das Bundesamt für Kultur eng zusammen mit Partnerinnen und Partnern: der Schweizerischen Gesellschaft für Theaterkultur, der Schweizer Künstlerbörse, dem Tanzfest und dem Schweizer Theatertreffen.

Social media