Martin Zimmermann

Martin Zimmermann - Entete
© BAK / Charlotte Krieger

Martin Zimmermann

Quirky stage worlds

Swiss Grand Award for the Performing Arts / Hans Reinhart Ring 2021

Martin Zimmermann was born in the canton of Zurich in 1970. Now based in the city, he has been inventing, choreographing and staging visual theatre that more or less defies categorisation for more than 20 years. After an apprenticeship as a decorator in Zurich, he completed his training at the Centre National des Arts du Cirque (CNAC) in Paris in 1995. He toured the globe for three years with his diploma piece, before returning to Switzerland in 1998 after eight years in France. Since then, he has been enthralling a wide audience as a choreographer, director, stage designer and clown, initially in the trio Metzger/Zimmermann/de Perrot, then in the duo Zimmermann/de Perrot and, for the last few years, on his own. His cleverly conceived and witty stage designs have already received a Swiss Design Award from the Federal Office of Culture on three occasions, in 2008, 2010 and 2011. An innovation award from KTV ATP (now the Swiss theatre professionals’ association t.) in 2008 was followed in 2009 by the Swiss Dance and Choreography Prize, then in 2010 by the culture promotion award from the Canton of Zurich and, in 2013, a prize from the Foundation Heinz Spoerli. Martin Zimmermann is currently an associated artist at the Tanzhaus Zürich.

Martin Zimmermann’s earliest successes “Gopf” (1999), “Hoi” (2001), “Janei” (2004) as well as “Öper Öpis” (2008) and “Hallo” (2014) saw him create a visual style previously unknown in Switzerland: a visual and physical theatre without words that mixes circus, dance and theatre with spectacular stage installations. His works are performed at well-known theatres and performing arts festivals worldwide, at venues including the Brooklyn Academy of Music (BAM) in New York, Tokyo Metropolitan Theatre, Théâtre de la Ville in Paris, the Barbican in London, Sydney Opera House, Festival d’Avignon, Zurich Theater Spektakel and Théâtre Vidy-Lausanne. Humour, magic and absurdity are the hallmarks of Martin Zimmermann’s artistic output. He fashions quirky stage worlds that serve as a setting for his figures and bizarre objects. When not performing himself, he makes his dancers, actors and virtuoso artists into accomplices in his tragicomic universe. Many of his works, such as “Eins Zwei Drei” (2018), about the figures of the clown, are still touring to this day. “Danse Macabre” (2021) received its première in August at the Zurich Theater Spektakel. For the opening of the Steps dance festival in spring 2022, Martin Zimmermann is teaming up with Kinsun Chan and the Tanzkompanie am Theater St. Gallen to create “Wonderful World”.

Martin Zimmermann is a talented figure. His incomparable way of “staging” is difficult to categorise: he unquestionably has the capacity to permeate the various artistic disciplines of physical theatre, dance, circus and scenic installation with imagination and precision, and engage them in dialogue. His works deal with human sensibility, contradictions, weaknesses, fragility and violence. The multi-layered complexity of interwoven human relationships is wittily and absurdly derailed and de-dramatised, giving the audience a different vision of dialogue and reflection. He says: “In my work, bodies have material properties and objects a human dimension.” That combination opens up manifold potentials. Martin Zimmermann’s works are like kaleidoscopic images, in which multiple forms are created from a single beam of light.

Guillaume Guilherme, Chair of the Dance Jury
Nunzia Tirelli, jury member

Martin Zimmermann

Martin Zimmermann - Entete
© BAK / Charlotte Krieger

Martin Zimmermann

De bizarres mondes scéniques

Grand Prix suisse des arts de la scène / Anneau Hans Reinhart 2021

Martin Zimmermann est né en 1970 dans le canton de Zurich. Cela fait plus de 20 ans qu’il invente, chorégraphie et met en scène depuis Zurich un théâtre visuel presque inclassable. Après un apprentissage de décorateur à Zurich, il obtient en 1995 un diplôme du Centre National des Arts du Cirque (CNAC) à Paris. Il fait pendant 3 ans une tournée mondiale avec la pièce qu’il a montée pour son diplôme avant de rentrer en Suisse en 1998, après 8 ans d’absence. Depuis lors, il enthousiasme un large public en tant que chorégraphe, metteur en scène, scénographe et clown, d’abord au sein du trio Metzger/Zimmermann/de Perrot, puis dans le duo Zimmermann/de Perrot et, depuis quelques années, en solo. Ses scénographies élaborées et spirituelles ont déjà été primées à trois reprises par un Prix suisse de design de l’Office fédéral de la culture (2008, 2010, 2011). Outre le Prix suisse d’innovation 2008 décerné par l’association ATP KTV (aujourd’hui t. Professionnels du théâtre Suisse), il a notamment reçu le Prix Suisse de danse et de chorégraphie en 2009, le Prix d’encouragement culturel du canton de Zurich en 2010 et un prix de la Fondation Heinz Spoerli en 2013. Martin Zimmermann est actuellement artiste associé au Tanzhaus de Zurich.

Avec ses premières pièces à succès, par exemple « Gopf » (1999), « Hoi » (2001), « Janei » (2004), « Öper Öpis » (2008) et « Hallo » (2014), Martin Zimmermann a créé un style personnel jusqu’alors inconnu en Suisse – un théâtre visuel et physique, sans paroles, fait d’un mélange de cirque, de danse, de théâtre et d’installations scénographiques spectaculaires. Ses œuvres sont représentées dans des théâtres et des festivals renommés du monde entier – par exemple à la Brooklyn Academy of Music (BAM) de New York, au Metropolitan Theatre de Tokyo, au Théâtre de la Ville de Paris, au Barbican de Londres, à l’Opéra de Sydney, au Festival d’Avignon, au Zürcher Theater Spektakel et au Théâtre Vidy-Lausanne. L’humour, la magie et l’absurde caractérisent les créations culturelles de Martin Zimmermann. Il développe des mondes scéniques bizarres, où il met en scène ses personnages et des objets étranges. S’il ne joue pas lui-même, il fait de ses danseuses, acteurs et artistes virtuoses des complices de son univers tragicomique. Beaucoup de ses œuvres sont encore en tournée, comme « Eins Zwei Drei » (2018), qui traite des personnages du clown. La première de sa récente création, « Danse Macabre » (2021), a eu lieu en août au Zürcher Theater Spektakel. Pour l’ouverture du festival de danse Steps au printemps 2022, Martin Zimmermann créera sa pièce « Wonderful World » avec Kinsun Chan et la Tanzkompanie am Theater St. Gallen.

Martin Zimmermann est très talentueux ; pour cataloguer sa façon particulière de « mettre en scène », il faut un certain acharnement ; il est doué d’une indubitable capacité à se couler avec une grande inspiration dans différentes disciplines artistiques, théâtre physique, danse, cirque et installations scéniques, entrant avec elles dans un dialogue rigoureux. Les sujets abordés dans ses œuvres mettent en jeu de nombreux sentiments humains, les contradictions, les faiblesses, les fragilités et la violence qui nous habitent. La foisonnante complexité du tissu des relations humaines se démêle dans l’humour ou dans l’absurde en dissipant l’atmosphère dramatique et en proposant au spectateur une vision différente fondée sur le dialogue et la réflexion. Martin Zimmermann nous explique : « dans mon travail, les corps ont une réalité matérielle et les objets une dimension humaine ». Cette collision ouvre d’innombrables possibilités. Les œuvres de Martin Zimmermann sont comme les images d’un caléidoscope où d’un unique faisceau de lumière naissent d’infinies combinaisons de couleurs et de formes.

Guillaume Guilherme, président du jury de la danse
Nunzia Tirelli, membre du jury