Jossi Wieler

Jossi Wieler
© BAK/Gneborg

Jossi Wieler

A cooperative reinventor of opera 

Swiss Grand Award for Theatre / Hans Reinhart Ring 2020
Jossi Wieler was born into a liberal Jewish family in Kreuzlingen in 1951 and now lives in Berlin. He has been reinventing musical theatre internationally for a quarter of a century. From 1972 to 1980 he lived in Israel, where he studied stage directing at Tel Aviv University. In 1980 he joined the Schauspielhaus Düsseldorf as assistant director, going on to direct numerous productions at theatres in Germany and Switzerland, in cities including Heidelberg, Bonn, Stuttgart, Basel, Hamburg, Munich, Zurich and Berlin. His productions have also guested at many national and international festivals, including several appearances at the Berlin Theatertreffen: “Amphitryon” in 1985, “Wolken.Heim” by Elfriede Jelinek in 1994 (for which he was also awarded Stage Director of the Year), “Alkestis” in 2002 and “Mittagswende” in 2005. Jossi Wieler is the recipient of many other honours, including the Konrad Wolf Prize from the Berlin Academy of Arts in 2002, the German Critics’ Award in 2005, the Nestroy Prize in 2009 and the Culture Prize from the Canton of Thurgau in 2019.

Since 1994 he has also been creating productions for the opera in tandem with Sergio Morabito. Their collaboration is characterised by mutual dialogue and the sensory exploration of the score for contemporary socio-political relevance. The duo have worked on more than 25 productions at the Staatsoper Stuttgart, where Jossi Wieler was stage director from 2011 to 2018. Their production of Handel’s “Alcina” has also been shown in Edinburgh, Budapest, San Francisco and Lyon. “Ariadne auf Naxos” was voted Production of the Year at the Salzburg Festival in 2001. Jossi Wieler and Sergio Morabito were voted Directorial Team of the Year in 2002 and received the German “Der Faust” theatre award in the Opera Direction category in 2006 for “Doktor Faust” and in 2012 for “Glückliche Hand / Schicksal”. Jossi Wieler received the State of Baden-Württemberg Culture Prize in 2015 followed in 2016 by its Order of Merit, in recognition of his work in Stuttgart. The Stuttgart Opera was voted Opera House of the Year under Jossi Wieler’s leadership in 2016, explicitly honouring its work as a unique ensemble theatre.

At the end of February 2020 he once again teamed up with Sergio Morabito to stage “Les Huguenots” at the Grand Théâtre de Genève. In partnership with stage and costume designer Anna Viebrock, who has worked with Jossi Wieler for almost forty years, they presented a highly associative interpretation of this opera, while as in all their productions, images and situations narrow the gap between stage and audience and open up new perspectives on the seemingly familiar.

“Rehearsing is like composing together, is how Jossi Wieler describes his work as a director, stressing the importance of people listening to each other. For many years now, Wieler has been regaling us with intelligent and sensitive stagings of theatre and opera: striking compositions of gestures and words, sounds and images that he picks up on by tuning in to his ensemble, yet maintaining respect for each individual and for the theatrical text and work of music. His creations reach out to our lived realities, because here too, attentive listening makes all the difference. The contradictions in his characters are our contradictions: understandable and contemporary despite their historical garb. They are easy to listen to because they have something to say to us, and because they gently entreat us to learn the art of listening to each other.”

Markus Joss, jury member

Jossi Wieler

Jossi Wieler
© BAK/Gneborg

Jossi Wieler

Kooperativer Opernerneuerer

Schweizer Grand Prix Theater / Hans-Reinhart-Ring 2020

Jossi Wieler, geboren 1951 in Kreuzlingen, lebt heute in Berlin. Er zählt seit einem Vierteljahrhundert international zu den Erneuerern des Musiktheaters. Von 1972 bis 1980 lebte der aus einer liberal-jüdischen Familie stammende Wieler in Israel, wo er Schauspielregie an der Universität Tel Aviv studierte. 1980 kam er als Regieassistent ans Schauspielhaus Düsseldorf; danach inszenierte er kontinuierlich an Theatern in Deutschland und der Schweiz: in Heidelberg, Bonn, Stuttgart, Basel, Hamburg, München, Zürich, Berlin. Seine Inszenierungen erhielten zahlreiche Einladungen zu nationalen und internationalen Festivals, so auch mehrmals zum Berliner Theatertreffen: 1985 «Amphitryon»,1994 «Wolken.Heim.» von Elfriede Jelinek, wofür er auch zum Regisseur des Jahres gewählt wurde, 2002 «Alkestis», 2005 «Mittagswende». Jossi Wieler erhielt zahlreiche weitere Auszeichnungen, darunter 2002 den Konrad-Wolf-Preis der Akademie der Künste Berlin, 2005 den Preis der deutschen Kritik, 2009 den Nestroy-Preis sowie 2019 den Kulturpreis des Kanton Thurgau.

Seit 1994 inszeniert er gemeinsam mit Sergio Morabito auch fürs Musiktheater. Ihre Zusammenarbeit ist geprägt vom gegenseitigen Dialog und von der sinnlichen Durchdringung der jeweiligen Partitur nach ihrer gesellschaftspolitischen Relevanz für die Gegenwart. An der Staatsoper Stuttgart, deren Intendant Jossi Wieler von 2011 bis 2018 war, erarbeitete das Regie-Duo über 25 Produktionen. Ihre Inszenierung von Händels «Alcina» wurde auch in Edinburgh, Budapest, San Francisco und Lyon gezeigt. «Ariadne auf Naxos» bei den Salzburger Festspielen 2001 wurde zur Aufführung des Jahres gekürt. Jossi Wieler und Sergio Morabito wurden 2002 zum Regieteam des Jahres gewählt und erhielten 2006 für «Doktor Faust» und 2012 für «Glückliche Hand / Schicksal» den Deutschen Theaterpreis DER FAUST in der Kategorie Beste Opernregie. Für seine Arbeit in Stuttgart wurde er 2015 mit dem Kulturpreis Baden-Württemberg und 2016 mit dem Verdienstorden des Landes ausgezeichnet. Die Oper Stuttgart wurde unter Jossi Wielers Leitung 2016 zum Opernhaus des Jahres gewählt, ausdrücklich für das als unverwechselbares Ensembletheater geführte Haus.

Ende Februar 2020 inszenierte er − erneut mit Sergio Morabito − «Les Huguenots» am Grand Théâtre de Genève. Gemeinsam mit der Bühnen- und Kostümbildnerin Anna Viebrock, die eine fast vierzig jährige Zusammenarbeit mit Jossi Wieler verbindet, zeigten sie eine assoziationsreiche Interpretation dieser Oper, wie überhaupt immer in ihren Produktionen Bilder und Situationen eine besondere Nähe zwischen Bühne und Publikum schaffen und neue Perspektiven auf scheinbar Bekanntes eröffnen.

«Proben, das ist ein gemeinsames Komponieren, so beschreibt Jossi Wieler seine Arbeit als Regisseur. Und: dass man ein Gehör füreinander entwickeln müsse. Seit vielen Jahren beschenkt uns Wieler mit klugen und sensiblen Schauspiel- und Operninszenierungen. Es sind eindringliche Kompositionen aus Gesten und Worten, Tönen und Bildern, die er seinem Ensemble ablauscht, mit Respekt vor jedem einzelnen, mit Respekt auch vor dramatischem Text und musikalischem Werk. Seine Arbeiten stellen Bezüge zu unserer Lebenswirklichkeit her, weil auch hier das genaue Hinhören gelingt. Die Widersprüche seiner Figuren sind unsere Widersprüche, nachvollziehbar, heutig, selbst im historischen Gewand. Man kann ihnen gut zuhören – weil sie uns etwas zu sagen haben und weil sie uns unaufgeregt auffordern ein Gehör füreinander zu entwickeln.»

Markus Joss, Jurymitglied