Sarah Owens

Sarah Owens

Design in the plural

Prof. Sarah Owens is a design educator and researcher whose biography resists neat narratives: it is best imagined as a map whose regions have porous borders. An anecdote on her decision to study design illustrates this well. Initially, Sarah Owens thought of a career as a musician. However, she became a designer instead, because it allowed her to cross professional boundaries and investigate a diversity of fields. Her biography is characterised by an ongoing collaborative and transdisciplinary journey influenced by incursions into history, education, film and literature. 
After graduating from the University of Applied Sciences Augsburg with a degree in communication design, Sarah Owens worked as an editorial and corporate designer in Munich and Stuttgart. The dotcom crash and a disconnect between what she had been taught and the realities of the profession encouraged her to explore another aspect of the discipline. She studied the history of design at the Royal College of Art in London, where her MA dissertation considered a youth magazine as a textual and visual manifestation of cultural beliefs and social conditions during the 1990s. A growing interest in graphic designers’ expertise and self-definition motivated her to write a PhD at the University of Reading which examined the relationship between everyday graphic design and professional practice. Her graduate studies enabled her to become well-versed in a wide range of discourses relevant to design, including sociology, philosophy and anthropology. While completing her PhD, she also became a Fellow of the Akademie Schloss Solitude in Stuttgart, where she developed a platform for design theory investigating an extended definition of design as the heart of every human activity. The underlying interests in her research – notions of expertise, knowledge, identity and othering – would constantly resurface throughout her career.

Sarah Owens lectured at universities in the UK before developing an academic career over more than a decade at the Zurich University of the Arts (ZHdK), where she is currently Professor and Chair of Visual Communication. In teaching, research and consulting, she adopts an inquiry-based approach that borrows from anthropology: one that attends closely and commits fully to the people and phenomena she encounters, thus allowing for joint conversations to unfold. She has edited and contributed to several volumes on design research and theory and has spoken widely on design and visual culture. She has also participated in or led more than a dozen research projects. Many of these had lasting influences on her approach to education, notably leading her to question the influence of myths and narratives within design and to consider notions of inequality, normativity and exclusivity, topics she included in her curricula. Her aim within design education is therefore to expand the boundaries of design so that students gain new perspectives and an openness to the field. As an educator, she strives to create an educational path that goes beyond teaching skills. 
Sarah Owens brings the same boundaryless ethos to cultural activities including literature and film, which allow her to connect more of her interests in images, memory, history and marginalisation. Amongst others, she co-organises the Black Film Festival Zurich, an annual event prioritising non-stereotypical narratives around identity, gender and race. An avid reader of everything from poetry to science fiction, she also took part in a series of literary events in which she interviewed acclaimed contemporary authors such as Roxane Gay and Taiye Selasi, conversations to which she brought a perspective informed not only by academic discourses but, just as importantly, by her own experiences as a reader. Her consideration for the full spectrum of knowledge reflects her desire to share and connect with the wider community, addressing issues of representation and visibility outside the university. These activities perhaps define the core of Sarah Owens’s biography: a passion for knowledge that is anti-hierarchical, celebrates plurality and focuses on inclusion, but also a career-long engagement to sharing and collectively building that knowledge.

Jonas Berthod

Sarah Owens
Sarah Owens
© BAK / Diana Pfammatter

Sarah Owens

Design in the plural

Sarah Owens ist Designdozentin und -forscherin. Ihre Biografie entzieht sich einer gradlinigen Erzählung und lässt sich mit einer Landkarte vergleichen, deren Gebiete durchlässige Grenzen haben. Das zeigt sich auch in den Gründen ihrer Entscheidung, Design zu studieren: Sarah Owens dachte zuerst an eine Karriere als Musikerin, wurde aber Designerin, weil sie so die Begrenzungen der Berufe überschreiten und in vielseitigen Bereichen arbeiten konnte. Ihre Biografie ist eine transdisziplinäre Reise mit Abstechern in Geschichte, Bildung, Film und Literatur. 
Nach einem Abschluss in Kommunikationsdesign an der Hochschule Augsburg arbeitete Sarah Owens als Editorial und Corporate Designerin in München und Stuttgart. Die Dotcom-Blase und die Entfremdung zwischen dem Gelernten und der Berufsrealität brachten sie dazu, einen anderen Aspekt ihrer Disziplin zu erforschen. Sie studierte Designgeschichte am Royal College of Art in London, wo sie mit einer Masterarbeit abschloss, in der sie ein Jugendmagazin als textlichen und bildlichen Ausdruck von kulturellen Überzeugungen und gesellschaftlichen Konditionen der 1990er-Jahre analysierte. Aus zunehmendem Interesse für das Fachwissen und die Selbstdefinition von Grafikdesignerinnen und -designern verfasste sie an der University of Reading eine Dissertation zur Beziehung zwischen Alltagsgrafik und professioneller Gestaltungspraxis. Ihre Studien ermöglichten ihr den versierten Umgang mit vielfältigen Diskursen aus der Soziologie, Philosophie und Sozialanthropologie, welche auch für Design relevant sind. Während ihrer Arbeit an der Dissertation erhielt sie ein Stipendium der Akademie Schloss Solitude in Stuttgart, wo sie eine Plattform für Designtheorie entwickelte und eine erweiterte Definition von Design als Zentrum jeder menschlichen Aktivität untersuchte. Die grundlegenden Interessen ihrer Forschung – Fachkenntnis, Wissen, Identität und Othering – kommen in ihrer Karriere immer wieder zum Vorschein.

Sarah Owens dozierte zuerst an Universitäten im Vereinigten Königreich und führte ihre akademische Laufbahn anschliessend während mehr als zehn Jahren an der Zürcher Hochschule der Künste (ZHdK) fort, wo sie zurzeit als Professorin und Leiterin der Fachrichtung Visual Communication arbeitet. Beim Unterrichten, Forschen und Beraten geht sie nach einem untersuchenden Ansatz vor, der aus der Sozialanthropologie stammt: Ein Ansatz, der Menschen und Phänomenen in der Begegnung volle Aufmerksamkeit schenkt und zu gemeinsamen Gesprächen anregt. Auch in ihren Vorträgen zu Design und visueller Kultur, in Herausgeberschaften und Beiträgen zur Designtheorie sowie in Forschungsprojekten steht der Dialog im Vordergrund. Dies hat ihre Herangehensweise nachhaltig beeinflusst und sie insbesondere zur Beschäftigung mit dem Einfluss von Mythen und Narrativen des Designs und zur Erforschung von Themen wie Ungleichheit, Normativität und Exklusivität angeregt – Themen, die auch in ihre Lehrtätigkeit einfliessen. In der Ausbildung will sie deshalb die Grenzen des Designs ausweiten und den Studierenden so neue Perspektiven und ein offenes Herangehen an das Designschaffen ermöglichen. Sie setzt sich für eine Bildung ein, die über das Vermitteln von Kompetenzen hinausgeht. 
Die Überwindung disziplinärer Grenzen ist Sarah Owens auch bei kulturellen Aktivitäten wie Literatur oder Film wichtig, um ihre Interessen für Bilder, Erinnerung, Geschichte und Marginalisierung zu verknüpfen. Unter anderem ist sie Mitorganisatorin des Black Film Festival Zurich. Das jährlich stattfindende Festival setzt den Schwerpunkt auf nicht-stereotype Erzählungen über Identität, Geschlecht oder race. Sie liest mit Begeisterung alles von Lyrik bis Science-Fiction und nahm auch an einer Serie von Literaturveranstaltungen teil, an denen sie bedeutende zeitgenössische Autorinnen wie Roxane Gay und Taiye Selasi interviewte. Sie brachte in diesen Gesprächen nicht nur ihren akademischen Hintergrund mit, sondern auch ihre eigenen Erfahrungen als Leserin. Ihr Interesse für das ganze Spektrum des Wissens spiegelt sich in ihrem Streben nach Austausch und Kontakt mit einer breiteren Gemeinschaft, und dem Verhandeln von Repräsentation und Sichtbarkeit ausserhalb der Universitäten. Diese Aktivitäten sind vielleicht die Essenz von Sarah Owens Laufbahn: die Leidenschaft für ein Wissen, das sich gegen Hierarchien stellt, die Vielfalt feiert und Inklusion anstrebt, aber auch das fortwährende Engagement, um dieses Wissen zu teilen und gemeinsam zu erweitern.

Jonas Berthod

Sarah Owens
Sarah Owens
© BAK / Diana Pfammatter