Jan Tschichold Prize 2020

Maximage: David Keshavjee & Julien Tavelli  

Jan Tschichold Prize 2020

Since 1997, the BAK has awarded the Jan Tschichold Prize to a personality, a group or an institution for outstanding achievements in book design. The prize is awarded on the recommendation of the jury and independently of the competition "The most beautiful Swiss books". This year, the Jan Tschichold Prize goes to Maximage.

Maximage is a Swiss design studio founded in 2009 by David Keshavjee (b. 1985) and Julien Tavelli (b. 1984). Based in Geneva, Zurich and Paris, Maximage works alone or in collaboration to create visual identities and digital solutions, books, posters and typefaces.

Maximage questions tools and technologies, opening up new perspectives on contemporary means of production. Its areas of particular interest include typeface design, offset printing and the creation of colour profiles. This research is applied to the development of tools for graphic designers, artists, photographers and printers. The jury’s choice of Maximage to receive the Jan Tschichold Award recognises the influence these tools have exerted on the graphic design landscape over recent years.

Maximage: David Keshavjee & Julien Tavelli 1
Maximage: David Keshavjee & Julien Tavelli
© Maria Trofimova

Prix Jan Tschichold

Maximage: David Keshavjee & Julien Tavelli  

Prix Jan Tschichold 2020

Depuis 1997, l’OFC récompense avec le Prix Jan Tschichold une personnalité, un groupe ou une institution dont les réalisations sont remarquables dans le domaine de la conception graphique du livre. Ce prix est décerné sur proposition du jury sans lien avec le concours des « Plus beaux livres suisses ». Cette année est attribué à Maximage.

Maximage est un studio de design suisse fondé en 2009 par David Keshavjee (1985) et Julien Tavelli (1984). Basé à Genève, Zurich et Paris, le studio travaille seul ou de manière collaborative dans la création d’identités visuelles et de solutions digitales, dans la production de livres et d’affiches et dans le dessin de caractères.

Le studio Maximage questionne les outils et les technologies, introduisant de nouveaux modèles de réflexion sur les moyens de productions contemporains. Les champs d’investigation du studio sont la création typographique, l’impression offset et la création de profils de couleurs. De ces recherches appliquées résulte la création d’outils mis à disposition des graphistes, artistes, photographes ou imprimeurs. C’est l’influence de ces outils sur le paysage de la création graphique de ces dernières années que le jury salue en leur octroyant le prix Jan Tschichold.

Maximage: David Keshavjee & Julien Tavelli 1
Maximage: David Keshavjee & Julien Tavelli
© Maria Trofimova