About the year 2005

'Vitra – Select&Arrange'
Cornel Windlin

About the year 2005


The 400 barrier for The most beautiful Swiss books was broken for the first time this year: 404 books were submitted for the competition. Once again it is clear that this competition run by the Swiss Federal Office of Culture (BAK) arouses a great deal of interest in many ways, and generates a considerable response: last year’s catalogue attracted an extraordinary number of positive re-views in the specialist press, both at home and abroad.

The seven-man jury headed by François Rappo assessed the entries, as every year, in terms of concept, graphic design and typography, and then for print quality and the technical finish of the cover, binding function and the materials used. Originality and innovation are other important criteria. As well as the 32 commended books, the jury also chose a ‘Book of the Jury’. Here the choice fell unanimously on the sales and product catalogue Vitra.Select, arrange, a remarkable piece of design by Cornel Windlin for Vitra AG. The furniture is elaborately presented in many wonderful sets of pictures, obviously not just as a mere sales product, but in a most attractive and lively way as domestic objects that can be integrated into everyday life.

Every year the jury awards, independently of the books submitted for the competition, the Jan Tschichold Prize in memory of the typographer, whose proposal led to the inception of the Swiss book design competition in 1944. The Swiss Department of the Interior (EDI) enabled the jury to award this prize for the tenth time to an individual, a group or an institution for an outstanding book design achievement. The Jan Tschichold Prize, which is endowed with 15,000 francs, was awarded to Gavillet & Rust (Gilles Gavillet and David Rust) in Geneva. Here the jury was acknowledging a young design team from West Switzerland who have been convincingly drawing attention to themselves for several years with numerous book projects, especially for JRP publishers in Geneva and today in Zurich, and with their own typeface label Optimo. Together with Gavillet&Rust, Tania Prill & Alberto Vieceli, Zurich, Aude Lehmann, Zurich and Laurenz Brunner, Amsterdam were also nominated this year.

We are as always delighted with the awards won by Switzerland at the international The Most Beautiful Books in the World design competition in Leipzig. An international jury awarded one Golden Letter, one Gold Medal one, two silver medals, five bronze medals and diplomas, choosing from 636 books submitted by 34 countries. One of the bronze medals went to the Monica Studer, Christoph van den Berg. Somewhere else is the same place exhibition catalogue, designed by Iza Hren and Georg Rutishauser.

The catalogue by Laurent Benner (Reala) for The most beautiful Swiss books competition also caused an international stir last year. The design concept was so persuasive that the graphic designer and his team felt justified in developing the idea of a compilation of original pages further, and applying it in a new form. Light was to be thrown on specific aspects of book production even more than last year, making the publication entirely into an archival reference work and material book.

It is only thanks to the inspiring co-operation between graphic designer, printers, paper suppliers and the Burkhardt bindery that this year’s catalogue could be realized. Our thanks for their magnificent support (with material, work and ideas) go to the printers of all the winning books, the Burkhardt bindery, the paper firms Arctic Papers Schweiz AG, Antalis AG, Inapa Schweiz AG, Sihl+ Eika AG and Fischer Papier AG, and not least to the Odermatt printers. I am personally delighted that it was possible at a time of financial difficulty and despite all the prophecies of doom to realize a project like this, in which technical, communications and human expertise are demanded to an unusual extent, and to work together with such enthusiasm.

And now I wish you, dear readers, pleasure for all the senses in your trip through the most beautiful Swiss books of 2005.
Mirjam Fischer

Jury

François Rappo, 1955, Lausanne, Chair of the Jury
Graphic designer and typographer. Active in the fields of book design and type design, corporate and exhibition design as well as orientation and information systems. Since 1996 Head of the Department of Visual Communication at the ECAL in Lausanne. Member of the Swiss Federal Design Commission.

Julia Born, 1975, Amsterdam (NL) and Zurich
Trained in graphic design at the Gerrit Rietveld Academie in Amsterdam, active as a freelance graphic designer between Amsterdam and Zurich, mainly in the cultural domain. Teaching activities at the ECAL in Lausanne and the Gerrit Rietveld Academie.

Lionel Bovier, 1970, Zurich
Art historian and publisher since 1999. From 1990 to 2003 he realized numerous exhibitions on a free-lance or associate basis for institutions like Le Magasin in Grenoble and the Musée Cantonal des Beaux-Arts in Lausanne. He is a director of JRP|Ringier, which he founded with Michael Ringer in Zurich in 2004, and is also responsible for creating and organizing the new Artists‘ Books section at the Basel Book Fair.

Patrick Frey, 1951, Zurich
Studies in Economics and art history. Art historian, exhibition organizer and publisher of art books. Writes and publishes concerning contemporary art and artists, photography and the phenomena of everyday culture. Since 1983/84 active in cabaret and the theatre as well as projects for radio and television.

Hans-Jürg Hunziker, 1938, Paris (F)
Trained as a typesetter, worked at Mergenthaler Linotype in New York, then with Adrian Frutiger in Paris. Since 1976 active as a freelance typographer. Type instruction at the Schule für Gestaltung in Zurich and director of studies at the Atelier National de Création Typographique in Nancy.

Karel Martens, 1939, Arnhem (NL)

Since 1961 active as visual designer in the fields of book art and typography for a wide variety of clients. Teaching activity at the Jan van Eyck Academy in Maastricht. In 1996 awarded the Dr. A. H. Heineken Prize for Art. Founder of Werkplaats Typografie in Arnhem.

Käti Robert-Durrer, 1948, Zürich

After graphic art studies at the Schule für Gestaltung Luzern, Käti Robert-Durrer worked for Pentagram Design in Zurich and London. Since 1977 she has had her own studio in Zurich with partner Jean Robert and has concentrated on images, posters, books and catalogues for various cultural institutions.

Au sujet de l'année 2005

'Vitra – Select&Arrange'
Cornel Windlin

Au sujet de l'année 2005


Le concours des plus beaux livres suisses a franchi cette année la barre des 400 envois (404 très exactement) pour la première fois de son histoire, fournissant ainsi une preuve supplémentaire, si besoin était, que ce concours patronné par l’Office fédéral de la culture (OFC) rencontre un grand intérêt et un large écho. Ce succès s’inscrit dans le prolongement des critiques positives décernées par la presse spécialisée nationale et étrangère au catalogue de l’année dernière.

Les sept membres du jury présidé par François Rappo ont examiné la conception, le traitement graphique et la typographie des envois soumis à leur appréciation, ainsi que la qualité de l’impression, la technique et le travail de la reliure et les matériaux utilisés. L’originalité et l’innovation sont d’autres critères tout aussi essentiels. Les membres du jury ont en outre désigné un ‹livre du jury› parmi les 32 ouvrages qu’ils ont distin-gués. Leur choix s’est unanimement porté sur Vitra.Select, arrange , un catalogue de la Vitra SA réalisé par Cornel Windlin. De nombreuses et extraordinaires séries de photo choisissent de présenter les meubles intégrés dans leur environnement habité, plutôt que comme de simples objets exposés à la vente.

En mémoire du typographe Jan Tschichold, à l’initiative de qui nous devons le lancement du concours de l’art du livre suisse en 1944, le jury décerne chaque année le prix Jan-Tschichold, dont le lauréat ne se trouve pas nécessairement parmi les livres candidats au concours. Le Département fédéral de l’intérieur (DFI) distingue ainsi pour la dixième fois une personnalité, un groupe ou une institution pour une réalisation dans le domaine de l’art du livre. Le prix Jan-Tschichold, d’un montant de 15’000 francs, a été décerné cette année à Gavillet & Rust (Gilles Gavillet et David Rust) de Genève. Le jury honore ainsi une équipe de jeunes artistes romands qui s’est illustrée depuis plusieurs années par la réalisation de nombreux projets de livre, notamment pour les éditions JRP à Genève et aujourd’hui à Zurich et pour leur propre label Optimo. Tania Prill & Alberto Vieceli, Zurich, Aude Lehmann, Zurich et Laurenz Brunner, Amsterdam ont également été nominés.

Il est toujours agréable de relever les distinctions reçues par notre pays au concours international Les plus beaux livres du monde de Leipzig. Un jury international a examiné 636 livres en provenance de 34 pays, et a décerné une lettre d’or, une médaille d’or, deux médailles d’argent et cinq médailles de bronze et diplômes d’honneur. Le catalogue d’exposition Monica Studer, Christoph van den Berg. Somewhere else is the same place , de Iza Hren et Georg Rutishauser a obtenu une médaille de bronze.

Le concours des plus beaux livres suisses de l’année dernière a encore retenu l’attention internationale grâce au catalogue réalisé par Laurent Benner (Reala). Le concept en était si convaincant qu’il a conforté le graphiste et son équipe dans leur idée de poursuivre sous une nouvelle forme la compilation de pages originales. Davantage encore que l’année dernière, un accent sera porté sur les aspects spécifiques de la fabrication des livres; cela permettra à la publication de devenir un ouvrage de référence et de matériaux que l’on pourra consulter avec profit.

Le catalogue de cette année doit sa réalisation au travail conjoint des graphistes, des imprimeurs, des fournisseurs de papier et des collaborateurs de la maison de reliure Burkhardt. Nos remerciements vont notamment aux imprimeurs des livres récompensés, à la maison de reliure Burkhardt, aux papetiers Arctic Paper Schweiz AG, Antalis SA, Inapa Schweiz SA, Sihl+Eika SA et Fischer Papier SA et à l’imprimerie Odermatt pour leur soutien généreux (en matériel, travail et idées). J’ai eu le plaisir de constater que malgré la conjoncture financière difficile, et en dépit des avertissements des Cassandre, il était possible à travers un tel projet de réaliser de manière innovante et enthousiaste une synthèse entre savoir-faire technique et humain.

Je vous souhaite, chère lectrice et cher lecteur, beaucoup de plaisir dans le voyage que je vous convie à faire dans le monde des plus beaux livres suisses 2005.
Mirjam Fischer

Jury

François Rappo, 1955, Lausanne, Président du jury
Graphiste et typographe. Exerce dans les domaines de la fabrication de livres et du design typographique, corporate design, design d’exposition et systèmes d’orientation et d’information. Depuis 1996 responsable du département Communication Visuelle à l’ECAL à Lausanne. Membre de la Commission fédérale du design.

Julia Born, 1975, Amsterdam (NL) et Zurich
Après des études de design à la Gerrit Rietveld Academie à Amsterdam, exerce comme graphiste indépendante entre Amsterdam et Zurich, essentiellement dans le domaine culturel. Enseigne à l’ECAL à Lausanne et à la Gerrit Rietveld Academie à Amsterdam.

Lionel Bovier, 1970, Zurich
Historien de l‘art et éditeur depuis 1999. De 1990 à 2003 il a réalisé de nombreuses expositions en tant que commissaire indépendant ou associé à des institutions telles que Le Magasin de Grenoble et le Musée cantonal des Beaux-Arts de Lausanne, Directeur de JRP|Ringier, qu’il a fondé 2004 à Zurich avec Michael Ringier, il est également responsable de la création et de l’organisation de la nouvelle section Artists’ Books de la Foire de Bâle.

Patrick Frey, 1951, Zurich
Etudes en Economie et en Histoire de l’art. Critique d’art, organisateur d’expositions et éditeur de livres d’art. Écrit et publie dans le domaine de l’art et des artistes contem- porains, de la photographie et des phénomènes de la culture du quotidien. Dès 1983/84, cabaret et théâtre et projets pour la radio et la télévision.

Hans-Jürg Hunziker, 1938, Paris (F)
Apprentissage de typographe compositeur. Travaille un temps chez Mergenthaler Linotype à New York, puis auprès de Adrian Frutiger à Paris. Depuis 1976 exerce sa profession de typographe en indépendant. Professeur de calligraphie à la Schule für Gestaltung de Zurich et responsable de formation à l’Atelier National de Création Typographique à Nancy.

Karel Martens, 1939, Arnhem (NL)
Exerce depuis 1961 pour différents mandants une activité de concepteur visuel dans les domaines de l’art du livre et de la typographie. Enseigne à la Jan van Eyck Academy à Maastricht. Distingué en 1996 par le Dr. A. H. Heineken Prize for Art. Fondateur du Werkplaats Typografie à Arnhem.

Käti Robert-Durrer, 1948, Zurich
Après des études de graphiste à la Schule für Gestaltung de Lucerne, collabore avec Pentagram Design à Zurich et à Londres. Depuis 1977, elle possède son propre studio à Zurich, avec son partenaire Jean Robert. Elle travaille surtout dans le domaine du corporate design, des affiches, des livres et des catalogues pour diverses institutions culturelles.