Jan Tschichold Prize 2020

Maximage: David Keshavjee & Julien Tavelli  

Jan Tschichold Prize 2020

Since 1997, the BAK has awarded the Jan Tschichold Prize to a personality, a group or an institution for outstanding achievements in book design. The prize is awarded on the recommendation of the jury and independently of the competition "The most beautiful Swiss books". This year, the Jan Tschichold Prize goes to Maximage.

Maximage is a Swiss design studio founded in 2009 by David Keshavjee (b. 1985) and Julien Tavelli (b. 1984). Based in Geneva, Zurich and Paris, Maximage works alone or in collaboration to create visual identities and digital solutions, books, posters and typefaces.

Maximage questions tools and technologies, opening up new perspectives on contemporary means of production. Its areas of particular interest include typeface design, offset printing and the creation of colour profiles. This research is applied to the development of tools for graphic designers, artists, photographers and printers. The jury’s choice of Maximage to receive the Jan Tschichold Award recognises the influence these tools have exerted on the graphic design landscape over recent years.

Maximage: David Keshavjee & Julien Tavelli 1
Maximage: David Keshavjee & Julien Tavelli
© Maria Trofimova

Jan-Tschichold-Preis

Maximage: David Keshavjee & Julien Tavelli  

Jan-Tschichold-Preis 2020

Mit dem Jan-Tschichold-Preis zeichnet das BAK seit 1997 eine Persönlichkeit, eine Gruppe oder eine Institution für hervorragende Leistungen in der Buchgestaltung aus. Die Auszeichnung wird auf Empfehlung der Jury und unabhängig vom Wettbewerb «Die schönsten Schweizer Bücher» verliehen. In diesem Jahr geht der Jan-Tschichold-Preis an Maximage.

Maximage ist ein Schweizer Designstudio, das 2009 von David Keshavjee (1985) und Julien Tavelli (1984) gegründet wurde. Das Studio mit Niederlassungen in Genf, Zürich und Paris arbeitet unabhängig oder in Zusammenarbeiten und schafft visuelle Identitäten und digitale Lösungen für die Produktion von Büchern und Plakaten sowie im Schriftdesign.

Die Gruppe Maximage befasst sich mit Werkzeugen und Technologien und trägt zu einer neuen Reflexion über die zeitgenössischen Produktionsmittel bei. Sie erforscht das typographische Schaffen, den Offset-Druck und die Erstellung von Farbprofilen. Daraus ergeben sich neue Werkzeuge, die in Grafik, Kunstschaffen, Fotografie und Druck genutzt werden können. Den Einfluss dieser Werkzeuge auf die Grafiklandschaft in den letzten Jahren würdigt die Jury mit einem Jan-Tschichold-Preis.

Maximage: David Keshavjee & Julien Tavelli 1
Maximage: David Keshavjee & Julien Tavelli
© Maria Trofimova