About the year 2007

Projekt Vitra. Orte, Produkte, Autoren, Museum, Sammlungen, Zeichen; Chronik, Glossar. Photography: Marianne Vierø, Amsterdam
Projekt Vitra. Orte, Produkte, Autoren, Museum, Sammlungen, Zeichen; Chronik, Glossar

About the year 2007


With the competition inspired by Jan Tschichold back in the '40s en titled The Most Beautiful Swiss Books, the Swiss Publishers Association initially and for more than 30 years the Federal Office for Culture created a tool for selecting the best produced books each year. In the beginning the aim was to increase book production, but nowadays the com petition aims to promote the quality of book creation in Switzerland and to introduce the award-winning books to a broad public at home and abroad. The award-winning books are the result of a jury’s decision based on guidelines, entry requirements and jury criteria that are fixed both with regard to inclusions and exclusions. The annual selection thus reflects the changing quality requirements and framework conditions of the competition very exactly. Not only has the manner in which the jury is put together changed over the years, but also the number of people on the selection committee. Since the beginning of the year the jury for the competition has been largely reselected and now comprises five members, which is the same as the very first jury in 1944. The committee in the '70s comprised up to 15 members. The reduction from seven to five members and the abolition of the special jury was made as part of the Federal Council’s call for and approval of the abolition of a number of extra-parliamentary commissions and juries and led to the merging of the Federal Design Commission with the jury for The Most Beautiful Swiss Books.

The five-person, international jury, under the new chairmanship of Cornel Windlin, selected 27 publications as The Most Beautiful Swiss Books from the 408 entries submitted. The books were judged based on their graphic form and typography, the technical composition in the quality of the print and the book covers, the workmanship of the bookbinding and the materials used. The relevant jury reports reveal what makes a book worthy of an award. An interview with the members of the jury, specialists from the different disciplines of book creation, book production and sales gives an enlightening first insight into the criteria used in making the selection and also into current trends. The focus of the assessment this year was on innovation and originality, or, to use the words of the chairman of the jury, on the ’authenticity’ and 'appropriateness' of the graphic conception. Every year the books selected as the Most Beautiful Swiss Books find a positive resonance on the international stage. This year, more Swiss books than ever before were honoured at the Leipzig competition The Most Beautiful Books in the World. Honours in the shape of one gold medal (Walter Keller (Ed.), Ein Tag im Leben von), two bronze medals (Fabian Biasio, Margrit Sprecher, Die Mitte des Volkes and Vitra AG, Vitra. The Home Collection) as well as an honorary diploma (Dorothea Strauss (Ed.), Carsten Nicolai. Static Fades) were awarded to Swiss books. Switzerland was the only country to receive four medals.

As well as exhibitions and supporting events at home and abroad, this catalogue forms an important platform for considering critically current questions and problems in the art of book creation. What can the books selected show us and how are they representative of Swiss book creation? What has happened to the passionate debate that was raging on and off the pages of distinguished specialist journals in the '60s about Swiss graphics and book creation? The current catalogue The Most Beautiful Swiss Books 2007 is the first of a trilogy to be spread over three years and is seen as the impulse for a renewed and active discourse. The publication that appeared at the opening of the exhibition in the Museum für Gestaltung in Zurich was conceived and designed this year for the first time by Laurenz Brunner. He was responsible for the overall editorial work together with the literary specialist Tan Wälchli. If production-specific aspects took centre stage in the last three years, this tim e the contents - in the form of a rich selection of fascinating essays - focus on relevant themes and observations to do with the book per se and book creation. We can look forward to its sequels in the years to come with keen anticipation. The target is to create a lively and stimulating debate about the medium of the book, its creation and the conditions for its representation and production in all their many facets.

After nine years of being responsible for the organisation of the competition The Most Beautiful Swiss Books I am leaving the Federal Office for Culture with a tear in my eye to go on to pastures new. However, I can pass on the baton with confidence and wish my successor just as much enrichment, interest, enthusiasm and scope for influence as I have been lucky enough to enjoy in the last years.

Mirjam Fischer, art historian
In charge of the competition The Most Beautiful Swiss Books
Federal Office of Culture, Berne

Jury

Cornel Windlin, 1964, Küsnacht
Chair of the Jury
Trained in Graphic Design at the Schule für Gestaltung in Lucerne. Since 1993 he has run his own studio in Zurich. He worked for the Museum für Gestaltung Zürich, the Schauspielhaus Zürich under the direction of Christoph Marthaler, the Tate Museums in London, and other institutions. Co-founder of Lineto, a digital font foundry. He has been responsible for conceiving and designing Vitras home catalogues since 2004.

Lionel Bovier, 1970, Zurich

Kunsthistoriker und seit 1999 Verleger. Von 1990 bis 2003 zahlreiche Ausstellungen als freier Kurator oder zusammen mit Institutionen wie Le Magasin de Grenoble und dem Musée cantonal des Beaux-Arts de Lausanne. Bovier ist Leiter des Kunstverlags JRP/Ringier, den er 2004 zusammen mit Michael Ringier in Zürich gegründet hat, und ist verantwortlich für die Schaffung und die Organisation des neuen Bereichs Artists’ Books an der Buchmesse Basel.

Käti Robert-Durrer, 1948, Zurich
After graphic art studies at the Schule für Gestaltung Luzern, Käti Robert-Durrer worked for Pentagram Design in Zurich and London. Since 1977 she has had her own studio in Zurich with partner Jean Robert and has concentrated on images, posters, books and catalogues for various cultural institutions.

Paul Neale, 1966, Ashby-de-la-Zouch (UK)
Studied Graphic Design at Saint Martins School of Art and Central School of Art and Design, 1985-88 and Graphic Design at the Royal College of Art, 1988-90. Lecturer in typography and design, Central Saint Martins, 1991-97. Founded the design consultancy Graphic Thought Facility (GTF), 1990 with Andrew Stevens and Nigel Robinson. GTF creates prints and digital graphics, products, and environments for businesses and art institutions.

Linda van Deursen, 1961, Amsterdam (NL)
Trained in Graphic Design at the Gerrit Rietveld Academie in 1986 she collaborated with Arm and Mevis. Mevis & van Deursen have been working for cultural clients, producing the new identity of Museum Boijmans Van Beuningen in Rotterdam, the identity and publications for fashion duo Viktor & Rolf, and numerous books on architecture and design. Van Deursen is head of the Graphic Design Department at the Gerrit Rietveld Academie and is critic at Yale University’s School of Art, New Haven, Connecticut.

Über den Jahrgang 2007

Projekt Vitra. Orte, Produkte, Autoren, Museum, Sammlungen, Zeichen; Chronik, Glossar. Fotografie: Marianne Vierø, Amsterdam
Projekt Vitra. Orte, Produkte, Autoren, Museum, Sammlungen, Zeichen; Chronik, Glossar

Über den Jahrgang 2007


Mit dem in den 40er Jahren durch Jan Tschichold angeregten Wettbewerb Die schönsten Schweizer Bücher schuf sich zu Beginn der schweizerische Verlegerverband und seit mehr als 30 Jahren das Bundesamt für Kultur ein Instrument, um alljährlich die besten Buchproduktionen auszuwählen. Ging es in den Anfängen vor allem darum, die Buchproduktion zu steigern, stellt sich der Wettbewerb heute zur Aufgabe, die Qualität der Buchgestaltung in der Schweiz zu fördern und die prämierten Bücher einem breiten Publikum im In- und Ausland vorzustellen. Prämierte Bücher sind das Resultat einer Jurierung, abhängig von Richtlinien, Zulassungsbestimmungen und Jurykriterien, die unweigerlich auch für Ein- und Ausschlüsse stehen. Die alljährliche Selektion widerspiegelt dadurch sehr genau die wechselnden Qualitätsanforderungen und Rahmenbedingungen des Wettbewerbs. Nicht nur der Modus der Juryzusammensetzung hat sich mit den Jahren geändert, sondern auch die Anzahl der Mitglieder des Auswahlgremiums. Seit Anfang Jahr ist die Wettbewerbsjury weitgehend neu besetzt und zählt erneut fünf Mitglieder, gleich viel wie die allererste im Jahre 1944 eingesetzte Jury. Bis zu 15 Juroren umfasste das Gremium in den 70er Jahren. Die Reduktion von sieben auf fünf Mitglieder und die Aufhebung der Spezialjury geschah im Rahmen des vom Bundesrats geforderten und beschlossenen Aufhebung etlicher ausserparlamentarischer Kommissionen und Jurys und führte zu einer Verschmelzung der Eidgenössischen Designkommission mit der Jury Die schönsten Schweizer Bücher.

Die fünfköpfige, international besetzte Jury unter dem neuen Vorsitz von Cornel Windlin hat aus den 408 Einsendungen 27 Publikationen als Die schönsten Schweizer Bücher ausgezeichnet. Die Bücher wurden hinsichtlich grafischer Gestaltung und Typografie, ihrer technischen Beschaffenheit in der Qualität des Druckes und des Einbandes, der buchbinderischen Verarbeitung sowie den verwendeten Materialien begutachtet. Was ein Buch zu einem auszeichnungswürdigen Buch macht, ist in den jeweiligen Juryberichten nachzulesen. Ein Interview mit den Jurymitgliedern, Spezialisten aus den verschiedenen Disziplinen der Buchgestaltung, Buchherstellung und Vertrieb, gibt erstmals einen erhellenden Einblick in die bei der Auswahl berücksichtigten Kriterien sowie über die aktuellen Trends. Der Schwerpunkt der Bewertung lag in diesem Jahr auf der Innovation und Originalität oder, um es in den Worten des Jurypräsidenten zu sagen, auf der und der grafischen Konzeption. Alljährlich finden die gekürten schönsten Schweizer Bücher auch auf dem internationalen Parkett eine erfolgreiche Bestätigung. Am Wettbewerb Schönste Bücher aus aller Welt in Leipzig sind dieses Jahr so viele Schweizer Bücher wie noch nie ausgezeichnet worden. Mit einer Goldmedaille (Walter Keller [Hg.], Ein Tag im Leben von), zwei Bronzemedaillen (Fabian Biasio, Margrit Sprecher, Die Mitte des Volkes und Vitra AG, Vitra. The Home Collection) sowie einem Ehrendiplom (Dorothea Strauss (Hg.), Carsten Nicolai. Static Fades) gehen gleich vier Würdigungen an Schweizer Bücher. Damit hat die Schweiz als einziges Land vier Medaillen geholt.

Neben Ausstellungen und Rahmenveranstaltungen im In- und Ausland bildet der Katalog eine wichtige Plattform, um über aktuelle Fragen und Probleme im buchgestalterischen Schaffen kritisch nachzudenken. Was können uns die prämierten Bücher zeigen, und wie repräsentieren sie die schweizerische Buchgestaltung? Was ist mit den leidenschaftlichen Debatten passiert, die innerhalb und ausserhalb profilierter Fachzeitschriften in den '60er Jahren über die Schweizer Grafik und Buchgestaltung geführt worden sind? Der vorliegende Katalog Die schönsten Schweizer Bücher 2007 bildet den Anfang einer auf drei Jahre angelegten Trilogie und versteht sich als Impulsgeber für die Wiederbelebung eines neuen und aktiven Diskurses. Die zur Ausstellungseröffnung im Museum für Gestaltung Zürich erscheinende Publikation wurde in diesem Jahr zum ersten Mal von Laurenz Brunner konzipiert und gestaltet. Für die gesamte editorische Arbeit zeichnet er gemeinsam mit dem Literaturwissenschafter Tan Wälchli verantwortlich. Lagen in den letzten drei Jahren produktionsspezifische Aspekte im Vordergrund, so richtet diesmal eine reichhaltige Palette an spannenden Essays den inhaltlichen Fokus auf relevante Themen und Beobachtungen rund um das Buch und die Buchgestaltung. Wir dürfen auf die Fortsetzung in den nächsten Jahren gespannt sein.

Ziel ist es, eine lebendige und anregende Auseinandersetzung mit dem Medium Buch, seiner Gestaltung, seinen Representations- und Produktionsbedingungen in allen Facetten zu führen.

Nach neun Jahren organisatorischer Betreuung des Wettbewerbs Die schönsten Schweizer Bücher verlasse ich das Bundesamt für Kultur mit einem lachenden und weinenden Auge und breche auf zu neuen Ufern. Ich darf den Stab aber weitergeben und wünsche meiner Nachfolge genauso viel Begeisterung, Interesse, Bereicherung und Wirkungskraft, wie ich sie während der letzten Jahre erleben durfte.

Mirjam Fischer, Kunsthistorikerin
Verantwortlich für den Wettbewerb Die schönsten Schweizer Bücher
Bundesamt für Kultur, Bern

Jury

Cornel Windlin, 1964, Küsnacht
Jurypräsident
Grafikfachklasse an der Schule für Gestaltung in Luzern. Seit 1993 eigenes Studio in Zürich. Tätig für das Museum für Gestaltung Zürich und die Tate Museen in London. Verantwortlich für den Neuauftritt und das Gesamterscheinungsbild des Schauspielhauses Zürich unter der Direktion von Christoph Marthaler. Mit Stephan Müller gründete er 1994 Lineto, ein Label unter welchem eigene und andere Schriftentwürfe veröffentlicht werden. Seit 2004 zeichnet er für die Konzeption und visuelle Gestaltung des Vitra Home Kataloges verantwortlich.

Lionel Bovier, 1970, Zürich
Kunsthistoriker und seit 1999 Verleger. Von 1990 bis 2003 zahlreiche Ausstellungen als freier Kurator oder zusammen mit Institutionen wie Le Magasin de Grenoble und dem Musée cantonal des Beaux-Arts de Lausanne. Bovier ist Leiter des Kunstverlags JRP/Ringier, den er 2004 zusammen mit Michael Ringier in Zürich gegründet hat, und ist verantwortlich für die Schaffung und die Organisation des neuen Bereichs Artists’ Books an der Buchmesse Basel.

Käti Robert-Durrer, 1948, Zürich

Nach dem Grafikstudium an der Schule für Gestaltung Luzern Mitarbeit bei Pentagram Design in Zürich und London. Seit 1977 eigenes Studio in Zürich mit Partner Jean Robert und tätig vor allem in den Bereichen Erscheinungsbilder, Plakate, Bücher und Kataloge für diverse kulturelle Institutionen.

Paul Neale, 1966, Ashby-de-la-Zouch (UK)
Grafikstudium an der Saint Martins School of Art und an der Central School of Art and Design 1985-1988 sowie am Royal College of Art, 1988-1990. Lehrtätigkeit in Typografie und Design am Central Saint Martins, 1991-1997. Zusammen mit Andrew Stevens und Nigel Robinson gründet er 1990 das Designstudio Graphic Thought Facility.

Linda van Deursen, 1961, Amsterdam (NL)
Grafikstudium an der Gerrit Rietveld Academie. 1986 beginnende Zusammenarbeit mit Armand Mevis. Mevis & van Deursen arbeiten für Kunden aus dem Kulturbereich und zeichnen verantwortlich für die neue visuelle Identität des Museums Boijmans Van Beuningen in Rotterdam, für das das Coporate Design von Viktor & Rolf sowie für zahlreiche Bücher im Bereich von Architektur und Design. Leiterin des Graphic Design Department an der Gerrit Rietveld Academie und tätig als Jurorin an der School of Art der Yale University, New Haven, Connecticut.