Jan-Tschichold Award

Gilles Gavillet & David Rust

Gavillet & Rust

Jan-Tschichold Award 2006

Gavillet & Rust. Between the ecology of signs and re-housing Modernism
Lionel Bovier

I met Gilles Gavillet and David Rust in 1995 while I was teaching at the ECAL, Ecole cantonale d’art de Lausanne. In 1998 Gavillet went to Cornel Windlin in Zurich. Rust became professor of new media in the Visual Communication department, where he had also been a student. The Optimo project was already in place at this stage: a brochure announced it as a “website for a virtual type foundry, constructed like an organization with a complex organigram, a sound and image bank and a clothesline” (ECAL, Collection Produits no. 2, Lausanne 1998). The Optimo typeface label was intended above all to design and publish new fonts, but was at the same time launching a debate about the last vestiges of Modernism “as manifested in the principal communication models, in the principle of separating the ‘private’ and the ‘public’, in housing or in the utopias that were to be found here and there like erratic rocks in the socio-cultural environment” (ibid.). This also means that from the outset Optimo was interested in notions of originality and origin, practice and project, and less concerned with moving graphics, music or fashion forward as such, though these are things that interest Optimo in the more or less institutionalized spheres of culture or art, where it can benefit from the protected space they produce to generate projects, models or discussions suitable for a return to reality.

These questions stem directly from re-negotiating the territory between art and design, culture and industry that limited and defined the second half of the 1990s. This Design in an expanded field, to use the title of a series of discussions I have been leading since this time, corresponds perfectly with the option selected by Gavillet & Rust: without sacrificing anything of the particular quality of their métier, as can be seen from the fact that they specialize in typography, they make a particular claim to an artistic approach in the various projects they have realised. Thus for example in the catalogue for The most beautiful Swiss books 2000 (BAK, Gavillet & Windlin) or in commissions for the EPFL, for which Gavillet & Rust themselves engaged photographers like Armin Linke or Isabel Truniger. The works Across/Art/Suisse/1975-2000 (Skira/Le Seuil, Milan & Geneva 2001) and 25th International Biennial of Graphic Arts Ljubljana (JRP Editions, Geneva 2003) also show all the signs of addressing questions of iconography or the organization of editorial elements etc., in short, of a strong graphic project inseparably linked with editorial intentions.

Today the Optimo typeface label also uses other designers, and the fonts they sell have appeared in numerous magazines from Vogue Hommes to GQ Deutschland or Outside Magazine (Condé Nast), in publications or on posters.

When I founded JRP | Ringier in 2004, it therefore seemed obvious to me to engage Gavillet & Rust not just to create the company’s visual identity and its website etc., but also to define its editorial typologies.

At the Typecon 2003 conference in Minneapolis, Gavillet & Rust explained: “The world is written; still, it is necessary to be able to read it... Our everyday visual environment is literally strewn with words; from newspaper to food packaging; from utilitarian objects to clothes; from vehicles to buildings; people pass through a continuous forest of signs. Make no mistake — its permeability is only the other side of your own. By travelling through the everyday environment, everybody is pierced by these ‘bundled rays’ of trademarks, visual identities, imprints, and images. Typography is therefore present at all times and at all everyday locations. Being one of the primary means by which words are made, typography participates in the definition of an ambience, and of an exchange. By playing here on coincidence, there on rupture, on the evident or on the slippage of transparency or opacity, typography make fissures in the way a word functions.” This attention to everyday signs, reflecting about their use and their influence, perhaps shows most clearly how ambitious Gavillet & Rust are. Their language is a mixture of neo-modernity (more interested in macro than micro solutions, transparency, efficiency, problem-solving etc.) and postmodernist confrontation with the way the everyday world and design interact, oscillating between reintegrating and deconstructing the rules. Of course the Swiss context must be significant here, close to designers like Cornel Windlin or Norm, but parallels with current artistic practice can also be discerned (Cady Noland, Liam Gillick, Kelley Walker etc.). It could also be said that we are dealing here with a form of the ecology of modernist signs. If modernistic forms of the kind put forward by artists and theorists of postmodernism represent the height of capitalism, then here we are confronted with a simple alternative: rejecting this heritage as a whole, or appropriating its forms again. It seems that Gavillet & Rust have set off in the second direction: a way of re-housing modernism.

Jan-Tschichold-Preis

Gilles Gavillet & David Rust

Gavillet & Rust

Jan-Tschichold-Preis 2006

Gavillet & Rust. Zwischen Ökologie der Zeichen und Wiederbehausung der Moderne
Lionel Bovier

Ich habe Gilles Gavillet und David Rust 1995 während meiner Lehrtätigkeit an der ECAL, Ecole cantonale d’art de Lausanne, kennen gelernt. 1998 ging Gavillet nach Zürich zu Cornel Windlin. Rust wurde Professor für neue Medien in der Abteilung Visuelle Kommunikation, wo er auch studiert hatte. Zu diesem Zeitpunkt waren die Grundlagen des Projekts Optimo bereits gelegt: ein Faltprospekt kündigte seine Gründung an in Form einer «Website zu einer virtuellen Schriftgiesserei, aufgebaut wie ein Unternehmen mit einem komplexen Organigramm, einer Ton- und Bilddatenbank sowie einer Kleiderlinie» (ECAL, Collection Produits Nr. 2, Lausanne 1998). Das Schriftenlabel Optimo war zwar in erster Linie bestimmt für Entwurf und Edition neuer typografischer Schriften, wollte aber gleichzeitig auch eine Debatte über die letzten Überreste des Modernismus führen «so wie er sich noch in den gebräuchlichsten Kommunikationsmodellen, im Trennungsprinzip zwischen «privat» und «öffentlich», im Habitat oder in den da und dort im soziokulturellen Umfeld wie erratische Blöcke ruhenden Utopien manifestiert» (ibid.). Das bedeutete auch, dass sich Optimo von Anfang an für die Begriffe Originalität und Ursprung, Anwendung und Projekt interessierten und sich weniger dafür einsetzten, Grafik, Musik oder Mode als solche voranzutreiben. Optimo war daran nur insofern interessiert, als dass sie vom geschützten Rahmen dieser mehr oder weniger institutionalisierten Kunst- und Kulturräume profitieren konnte, um Projekte, Modelle oder Diskussionen zu generieren, die auf das Wirkliche zurückführen können.

Diese Fragen stellen sich direkt bei der Neuverhandlung des Territoriums zwischen Kunst und Design, Kultur und Industrie, welche die zweite Hälfte der 90er Jahre bestimmten. Dieses Design in an expanded field, um den Titel einer Serie von Gesprächen, die ich seit dieser Zeit leite, aufzunehmen, entspricht perfekt der von Gavillet & Rust gewählten Option: Ohne etwas von der Besonderheit ihres Metiers aufzugeben, wie dies ihre typografische Spezialisierung belegt, beanspruchen sie dialektisch einen künstlerischen Anspruch in ihren Projekten. So beispielsweise beim Katalog Die schönsten Schweizer Bücher 2000 (BAK, Gavillet & Windlin) oder bei Aufträgen für die EPFL, bei denen Gavillet & Rust ihrerseits Fotografen wie Armin Linke oder Isabel Truniger engagierten. Die Werke Across/Art/Suisse/1975-2000 (Skira/Le Seuil, Mailand & Genf 2001) und 25th International Biennial of Graphic Arts Ljubljana (JRP Editions, Genf 2003) sind Resultate einer konkreten Auseinandersetzung mit ikonografischen und editorialen Fragen. Sie stehen für ein starkes grafisches Projekt, das untrennbar mit dem projet éditorial verbunden ist.

Heute nimmt das Schriftenlabel Optimo auch andere Designer auf, und die vertriebenen Fonts sind in zahlreichen Magazinen erschienen, von Vogue Hommes bis GQ Deutschland oder Outside Magazine (Condé Nast), in Publikationen oder auf Plakaten.

Als ich 2004 JRP| Ringier gründete, schien es mir deshalb klar, dass ich Gavillet & Rust nicht nur für die Realisierung der visuellen Identität des Unternehmens und seiner Internetseite usw. verpflichten wollte, sondern auch für die Definition der editorialen Typologien.

Im Rahmen der Tagung Typecon 2003 in Minneapolis erklärten Gavillet & Rust: «Die Welt ist geschrieben, aber man muss sie auch lesen können... Die visuelle Alltagswelt ist voller Zeichen; von Tageszeitungen zu Lebensmittelverpackungen, von Gebrauchsgegenständen zu Kleidern, von Fahrzeugen bis hin zu Gebäuden durchstreift man einen unendlichen Zeichenwald. Und man täusche sich nicht: Seine Durchlässigkeit ist nur die Gegenseite zur eigenen. Beim Durchschreiten der alltäglichen Umgebung wird man von «gebündelten Strahlen» von Logos, visuellen Identitäten, Gedrucktem und Bildern durchbohrt. Folglich ist die Typografie in je dem Moment und an jedem Ort des Alltags gegenwärtig. Typografie als einer der Hauptbestandteile eines Wortes, ist Teil der Atmosphäre und des Austauschs. Sie hat damit Einfluss auf die Vermittlung, indem sie mit Zufall und Brüchen oder mit Transparenz und Opazität spielt.» Diese Aufmerksamkeit für alltägliche Zeichen, diese Reflexion über ihren Gebrauch und ihren Einfluss zeigen vielleicht am besten den Ehrgeiz von Gavillet & Rust. Eine Mischung aus Neomodernität (Vorzug von Makro- gegenüber Mikrolösungen, Transparenz, Effizienz, problem-solving, usw.) und postmodernistischer Konfrontation mit der Art, wie Alltagswelt und Design interagieren; Gaville & Rusts Sprache schillert zwischen Reintegration und Dekonstruktion der Regeln. Zweifellos ist der helvetische Kontext in dieser Position nicht ohne Bedeutung, in der Nähe von Designern wie Cornel Windlin oder Norm, aber auch Parallelen zur aktuellen künstlerischen Praxis sind auszumachen (Cady Noland, Liam Gillick, Kelley Walker usw.). Man könnte auch sagen, man habe es hier mit einer Form von Ökologie der Zeichen der Moderne zu tun. Wenn die modernistischen Formen, wie dies Künstler und Theoretiker der Postmoderne behaupten, den Höhepunkt des Kapitals repräsentieren, ist man mit einer einfachen Alternative konfrontiert: Dieses Erbe als Ganzes zurückzuweisen oder sich dessen Formen wieder anzueignen. Es scheint, dass Gavillet & Rust die zweite Richtung eingeschlagen haben, eine Art, das Moderne neu zu behausen...